Your New Favorite Summer Cookie

by Young Victorians

When I saw the most recent edition of Bon Appetite featured a recipe for Lemon-Lime-Basil Shortbread cookies, I knew I was going to end up trying them. What I didn’t predict was that the cookies would be so flavorful that I would make them 3 times within a 24 hour span, albeit with a few modifications from the original recipe. I love these cookies, and so did all my obliging taste testers. But perhaps even more exciting are all the potential flavor combinations still to be explored–lemon lavender, lemon lime mint (think Mojitos), rosemary, etc. In the meantime, I now present you with the recipe for your new favorite summer cookie:

LEMON LIME BASIL SHORTBREAD COOKIES

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar plus more for pressing cookies
  • 1/2 cup (1stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2″ cubes
  • 3 tablespoons fresh basil leaves
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest plus 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lime zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Sea salt–I like Maldon

Preparation

  • Preheat oven to 375°. Place flour, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, butter, basil, both zests, lemon juice, and salt in a food processor. Pulse until large, moist clumps form. Measure level tablespoonfuls of dough; roll between your palms to form balls. Place on a large baking sheet, spacing 2″ apart. I recommend using a Silpat or parchment paper to make sure the bottoms of your cookies don’t get too brown. Lightly dust the bottom of a flat measuring cup with powdered sugar and press cookies into 2″ rounds, dusting cup bottom with powdered sugar as needed to prevent sticking. Lightly sprinkle tops of cookies with sea salt.
  • Bake until edges are brown, about 14-15 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool.

Primly,
Ella

(photos and taste testing by juliette)

