Balsamic Strawberries and Mascarpone Cream Dessert

by Young Victorians

When I’m hosting a dinner party, I try to serve seasonal, simple desserts. I like to allocate most of my time on the main course and I prefer desserts that don’t require much labor after my guests arrive, particularly in the summer. I often finding myself serving berries with mascarpone cream. For those of you who aren’t familiar with mascarpone, it’s essentially Italian cream cheese. Delicious! At my last dinner party, I complemented the mascarpone cream with strawberries dressed in balsamic vinegar (delightful combination for those who haven’t tried it yet!), but you can really serve this cream with any berries. I topped it with a lemon, lime, basil shortbread cookie. My guests loved the dessert, and in total, in took less than 30 minutes to prepare, all of which can be do the day before. Find the recipe after the jump.  

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 pound whole milk ricotta cheese, the highest quality (and generally most expensive) that you can find
  • 8 ounces mascarpone cheese
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • Grated zest of one lemon
  • 2 pounds strawberries, cut into quarters
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Directions:

1  Using an electric beater or stand mixer, mix the cream until soft peaks form.

2 Gradually add the ricotta, sugar and lemon zest until the mixture is smooth. Cover and refrigerate for a couple of hours.

3 Put the quartered strawberries in another bowl. Half an hour before serving gently mix in the remaining sugar and balsamic vinegar. Make sure you don’t let the strawberries sit in the balsamic vinegar longer than 30 minutes before serving or the acidity will destroy the strawberries.

4 When you are ready to serve, fill glass bowls halfway with the strawberries and their juices. Spoon on the ricotta-mascarpone mousse and then top again with the strawberries.

Primly,
Ella

(photos by juliette)

