Finally an Authentic Victorian

by Young Victorians


After a month of living out of boxes and suitcases, I’m almost a civilized human being again. I’m functionally unpacked, and have even half stocked the kitchen. Since I’ve graduated college, I’ve moved from cramped apartment to cramped apartment. Most didn’t have much charm, let alone a dishwasher. That was until two weeks ago, when I moved into a large, historic Victorian on top of one of the most scenic hills in San Francisco. I’m not sure I can go back to apartment living; it’s just too nice to wake up in a real house, with a front porch and back yard, and enjoy a long cup of tea in the sunroom. All while living in a world class city. While there is still much to do on the decorating front, I wanted to share a picture of my current favorite room–the reading nook. Large windows and walls of books–what more could I ever want?

So to celebrate my move and San Francisco’s annual Indian Summer, I threw an impromptu dinner party for my friend Peter’s birthday. I’m afraid my recently hectic life was reflected in rather disjointed menu : Fig and Ricotta Salad, Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Corn and Cilantro, Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Prosecco & Raspberry Gelee. But when the ingredients are fresh and your friends are too kind to say anything, it works out deliciously.

It’s getting late and I’m starving (the pictures above aren’t helping!), so recipes and more photos of the new house to come later this week.

Primly,
Ella

