Birthday Pasta and the End of Harvest

by Young Victorians

 

Last weekend, I went home to Spokane to celebrate my father’s birthday. The big 5-5! I’ll admit, however, my motivations were not purely inspired by filial devotion–I also wanted to catch one of the last weekends of Harvest. Now that my mother is empty nester, she has become organic tomato farmer extraordinaire. She starts her tomatoes in a greenhouse months before the seedlings are planted outside; by the end of the summer, my parents have more tomatoes than they know what to do with. To that end, my father decided to experiment with a sun- (or in this case, oven-) dried tomato recipe. Delicious. So to celebrate his birthday and the end of Harvest, I cranked out some homemade pasta and whipped up a sun-dried tomato pesto. We had a fantastic weekend, and on my last night, the first frost of the season occurred. I’m so glad I was able to make it home just in the nick of time. You can find the recipe for sun-dried tomato pesto after the jump.

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

Ingredients

  • 12 ounces pasta (I used fettucini I made)
  • 8.5-ounces of sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan

Directions

Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water. Drain, reserving 1 cup of the cooking liquid.

Meanwhile, blend the sun-dried tomatoes and their oil, garlic, salt and pepper, to taste, and basil in a food processor until the tomatoes are finely chopped. Transfer the tomato mixture to a large bowl. Stir in the Parmesan.

Add the pasta to the pesto and toss to coat, adding enough reserved cooking liquid to moisten. Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve.

Primly
Ella

 

